Rat Infested London


I’ve just been reading Crap Waltham Forest’s blog about the regular sightings of Rats.

I’ve been lucky to see just one by the pond in Mile End a few months ago and that’s about it. Or was it 2? Maybe it was the same one! You are only about 5 minutes away from a Stinking & Poisonous Rat in London. In the countryside, where I live, they are enormous (about 2 foot long) so that rat Crap Waltham Forest saw, was quite ‘tiddly’ by comparison.

One of my Worst Rat Experiences Ever was when I was in Hong Kong at a Dai Pai Dong (one of those food stalls you-are-meant-to-avoid, and about three fat black rats (yes, the Black Death ones you read about in history books), the size of dogs, darted between the tables and the waitresses didn’t seem to bat an eyelid. They just don’t seem to have any Health & Safety policy over there!

I had to Animal Sit for a neighbour once when I was younger and the kids had loads of animals, cats, a ferret, 2 dogs, stick insects and.. what they didn’t tell me, was a bloody rat. Coming from a farming background, with rats munching the foodstuffs and chomping their way through the buildings left right and centre, these were villians and a ‘job for my brother’. It never ceases to amaze me that ‘surburban’ people seem to even want to keep rats as pets when there are a lot better animals to have instead.

Still, rats are pretty clever creatures. If they weren’t so goddam awful, you’d have to admire them!

Leave a Reply

