Family Tree Research 1911 Census


I’ve just been tracking down some of my relatives on the new 1911 Census.

I discovered that one of my relatives was a Metropolitan police constable in 1911 – that was a surprise – I didn’t think my family were ever in the police. Normally, they are quite a predictable lot normally ending up as ‘man of the cloths’, soldiers or company directors. The women are often artists or housewives, often the annoying ladies-who-lunch variety. It makes me want to investigate his life in the police force in 1911.

Other than that it looks that my grandfather was with his relatives in
Romney Marsh, with his sisters. More on this later.

Leave a Reply

