US Cyclist survives Lightning Strike


An article from Examiner.com (2009)

“Terri Menghini was struck by lightning while training for an Ironman near Boulder, Colorado.

The mother of 5 was riding mile 78 of her 100-mile bike ride on North Foothills Highway just ourside of Boulder, Colorado near Longhorn Road, when the sky turns dark and she saw lightning in the distance.

“I thought, ‘I’m two miles from my car. That’s about five minutes. I’m going to go for it,'” Menghini said.

“There was one lightning bolt and within a minute, the second one got me,” she added.

Menghini passed out and when she woke up she could not move her arms and there were people standing over her holding umbrellas.

She was taken to Boulder Community Hospital were she was treated for her injuries, which included a temporary loss of eye sight, fortunately she was mostly uninjured and she was eventually released.”

++
Now I think I would rather ‘wait’ somewhere safe before going out and hope for the best.

However, this is not always possible if you are a bike commuter as you have to be at work. My route takes me past some high trees but I try to go past them very quickly.

When I was at home some years back, I heard a fire engine down the road. It turns out that lightning struck a nearby tree by my workplace and there was a sudden power cut in the area. I heard the massive bang from where I lived 3 miles away. Near the tree there was an electricity box.

I was pretty lucky I missed that one!

One response to “US Cyclist survives Lightning Strike

  1. jackgreen88

    Lighting is very dangerous especially Forked Lighting. The Steel in a Bicycle could draw it and Electrocute a Cyclist.

    There was a load of Accident Films made some Years ago by the BBC around 15 minutes long and one was about Lighting. It concerned some School Football Match in a part of England that the School Kids were Struck by Lighting while Playing. The Match was being played and the Rain decided to come down in a Deluge,The Teachers was asked would they Abandon the Match because of the Rain.

    They said no we will finish it as it will not be long now till the end. They continued Play then Disaster Struck with Forked Lighting Hitting a Saturated Field and spreading out in a wide Area of the Ground. Around 10 – 15 12 Year Old’s were Struck by Lighting some in a very bad way and also a Teacher . They had to give CPR to a lot of them and at least one nearly Died.

    A lot of Golfers have been also hit by Lighting.,it is very Dangerous.

    Sometimes if you are caught out in the open many Miles from Home,you have two choices keep going and hope for the best or try and find Shelter.

Leave a Reply

