Bad Weather & A Puncture


From the BBC:

“Up to 70mm (3in) of rain is expected to fall across south-east England, forecasters said, causing dangerous driving conditions.

The Met Office has issued severe weather warnings for East and West Sussex, Hampshire, the Isle of Wight and parts of Dorset.”

and today I have to fix my racing bike. The rear wheel has a puncture and it is one that is too hard for me to fix as the tyres are really skinny and tough to put back on.

That means I am going to have to walk all the way to town. It is not too bad as I like walking, well, as long as I am wrapped up warm. It’s just typical, isn’t it?!

2 responses to “Bad Weather & A Puncture

  1. It is always handy to have a spare Bike if you are not in the mood to fix a Puncture.

    If you have Tyre Levers it makes it a lot easier to get the Tyres on and off the Bike. I was like that before I got them,I would find it hard to get them off depending on the Bike or Tyres.

    We had the Storm over the Weekend in Dublin and on the Coast they were putting Sand Bags down to stop the Sea coming in but it was not as bad as they thought it would be. They are still expecting a lot of Rain Tonight.

  2. Yes, I was using my other bike for a while and thought I’d get it fixed when I had some time off.

    Now it works like a dream and I got home really quickly. I think I got home about 15 mins earlier than normal which is a huge difference. It is amazing how fast the racing bike is compared to my ploddy but hardy hybrid bike which sometimes is a chore going uphill, although it’s great ‘for the muscles’.

    The racing bike is just far too nice to go to work with though and I don’t want to leave it long in the street. I will just miss going home quickly.

    The bike shop mechanic took just 15 mins to fix my tough back tyre. I was impressed by tha – I thought he would take half an hour. I may have a go one day at doing it but I’ve got to be ‘in the mood’ to do it and I mean ‘in the mood for a fight’.

Leave a Reply

